h1

High Desert Waters

June 19, 2007

“I have come into the Desert because my soul is athirst as the Desert is athirst…”
-Charles Erskine Scott Wood, The Poet in the Desert

Sometimes she blasts out of the Sierras in roaring foam: you can watch her shape and smooth and move the rocks and boulders like a potter at the wheel. Sometimes she trickles.

Sometimes she’s perfect. Under every cataract is a pool. Under every pool is hope.

And she gives.

And she gives.

But the greatest gift is gold.

She is home to three species of trout and a family whose love for her is only a tributary of their love for each other.

High desert waters are where we quench our thirst.

17 comments

  1. Absolutely beautiful. You are a poet, and your understanding of the meaning behind everything that you do and that others do is wisdom beyond your years. I love you.


  2. She is a remarkable friend. I miss her more every day I am away.


  3. Nice photos, especially the brown trout.


  4. Gorgeous!

    Wherever you were, I’d like to fish there someday. Thanks for sharing…


  5. Great pix. Hope you guys had a fabulous time.


  6. Nice pictures. I enjoy it.
    Cheers


  7. Have you ever run across Belden Lane’s book _The Solace of Fierce Landscapes
    Exploring Desert and Mountain Spirituality _? It’s a combination memoir/study of the literature of those who have sought living waters in dry places.

    And by the way, nice fish!


  8. Dude, I switched to WordPress.


  9. Simply beautiful. Looks like it was a great trip.


  10. sounds like you had fun.


  11. What’s the story with that last picture?


  12. it’s my first ever golden trout. a few hours after i released it.


  13. Golden trout picture: the gravel in the bottom of pool looks like gold. It’s a great shot.


  14. Hey TMF,

    It’s been a while since I have been blogging.
    Looks like you made it out to LP…
    How did you like it? How many creeks did you visit?
    I am heading up there in two weeks. Do you have any recommendations?

    cheers
    rj


  15. rj-how did you figure i was at lp? i love it there. we only go to one place. tell you the truth, i didn’t know there was other water around. guess i should have known by all the tackle shops in town. actually it’s the first time i ever made it into town because i forgot to get a fishing license. great times, but the water was low and getting lower. hopefully you find plenty of water.


  16. TMF,
    I wish I could say I knew you were in LP because of the pics, me being a CA local and all, but the truth is you mentioned it a while back on my blog asking if I knew of anywhere to go. Unfortunately, I have never fished up there before. I will be heading there this weekend for the first time. It’s a bummer that it was running low when you were there – that probably isn’t a good sign. So Cal has had very little water this year.
    Any hints of the name of the river you were fishing for the Golden? Landing a Golden would be a first for me as well…


  17. This is the first time I’ve ever been happy with one of those Possibly Related Post” links.



Leave a Reply

