h1

Cutthroat Variations

May 23, 2008

When the cut-throat isn’t occupied in crime,
He loves to hear the little brook a-gurgling…
-Sir William Schwenck Gilbert, The Pirates of Penzance 

I’ve been thinking about the slash.

Maybe it’s about dominance.  Or attraction between the genders.  Or identification. Or a warning.  

It’s not camouflage.  It can’t help the fish swim faster or find food more efficiently.  It doesn’t mean they’re poisonous.  It’s just a striking pigment variation that occurs beneath the gill plates which underwater would never even be seen by other fish.

The more I think about it, the more convinced I am that the slash exists for me.

 

 

 

 

8 comments

  1. Very cool


  2. Wow–your pictures are amazing. Did I tell you our entire family of goldfish were dead when we got home from Annie’s? Holding them in my hands I could see just how beautiful they were. Made me really sad.


  3. extruder says : I absolutely agree with this !


  4. It’s the Cutthroat Swoosh… like Nike’s, only better.


  5. Those are some fatty cutthroats. Standing by for steelhead pics…


  6. I think it’s so they can have a name as cool as “cutthroat”.

    Speaking of cutthroat, I’m glad Jolie got a chance to see her first one with her Papa this weekend.


  7. Somehow i missed the point. Probably lost in translation 🙂 Anyway … nice blog to visit.

    cheers, Causerie


  8. I just found you blog and read through a fair bit of it,the only thing i can say is that it is beautiful. I am on the opposite side of the continent,hailing from Newfoundland, Canada. I too love to hunt and fish wild country and the only thing greater than that is my wife and daughter.
    best regards
    Dan



Leave a Reply

