h1

What Economic Crisis?

November 16, 2008

“My heart’s in the Highlands, a-chasing the deer…”
-Robert Burns, Farewell to the Highlands

This week my family ate salmon from our home river marinated with the berries we picked while fishing for the salmon. Tonight we’ll have venison that’s never been packaged, frozen, processed, or touched by anybody other than me. Next week we’ll thaw halibut or crab from the bay and eat it in a home warmed by wood fire and an intense love for each other and the land that preserves us.

It’s not just a good way to live. I’m starting to believe it’s the right way.

9 comments

  1. Oh my…you never fail to disappoint. I almost envy even the critter…


  2. jealous!!


  3. Sounds wonderful. I’m dreaming of the day I find a way to do the same. Have a nice day.


  4. Amen brother!


  5. dang.


  6. That is a beautiful sight…a pickup full of wood, a beutiful Stihl Chainsaw and a nice buck. We are in the midst of -40 below right now warm inside our home next to our woodstove. I find myself longing for coastal living once again where the winters are milder, the seafood is abundant and the scenery is magnificent. Hope all is well with you and yours. I hear you are going to be a dad again, Congrats! I had a dream the other day that we were fishing in Bristol Bay for Salmon and Bows….it was too real. Hope to speak to you soon.

    Regards,

    Scott


  7. […] What Economic Crisis?  is a beautiful post on a beautiful blog. It explains in very pretty words why a national economic crisis doesn’t affect a guy with a Marlin, a Stihl, and the skills to provide for his family.  The images and words on this blog are breathtaking and must be read for themselves.  My descriptions simply become cliche.  Quotable quote: ”It’s not just a good way to live.  I’m starting to believe it’s the right way.”  […]


  8. Reminds me of my home. Enjoying your blog down here in NZ.
    Fair play to ya mate!


  9. I couldn’t agree more. Although the reality is we are the fortunate ones that either have the inclination and the know how to live this lifestyle. I often get the comment….”you are aware they sell meat in supermarkets these days”

    But when I come home with kilograms of free rabbit meat, the sarcastic comments about our lifestyle tend to dissipate. Especially when the rabbit is served onto the plate in the most delicious way!



Leave a Reply

