h1

A Different Stick

October 12, 2009

“O’Driscoll drove with a song
The wild duck and the drake,
From the tall and the tufted reeds
Of the drear Hart Lake.” 
-William Butler Yeats, The Host of the Air 

Been parting the waters with a different stick lately.  Ptarmigan, ducks, and geese so far.  I’ve frozen a few in the round in preparation for next season’s hunting partner.  He’ll change things for us.  We’re ready for a change.

This morning I couldn’t pull my wading boots out of the truck because they were frozen to the bed.  I’m proud of my wet waders.  Maybe sometime this winter I’ll let them dry out.

Just not yet.

 

7 comments

  1. How are your 3 precious little girls and wife? I bet they are gorwing up fast! Blessings to all of you.


  2. Hey Olivia-
    Girls are good. Hard to keep up with. More reasons to fall in love every day. Check Katie’s blog under my links (belle etoile) for pics and comment. Great to hear from you.
    TMF


  3. Hi! Just popped by to see how things are and let you know I’m back with my word imperfect blog and going strong. Hope you can join me some time.


  4. The ducks look HUGE! And so pretty…did I ever tell you I love duck l’orange


  5. Hey, Isaac – Doug is jonesing for POW – don’t you have any new pics/posts that willtide him over until he, Glock, and the Big Red truck from NY hit the Island in August? 🙂

    Kitty ♥


  6. Maybe soon Kitty! Don’t tell him how good the trout fishing’s been. Might make it worse.

    But do tell him I said Hi.

    Hope to have some pics to post soon!


  7. Jeeeeebers!

    Thats a decent size bird!



Leave a Reply

